The Cold and Oil.

by nella503

Today has been cold. I’ve been cold at work and cold at home. Husband and Practice Manager had both pre empted the ending of winter and the coming of summer and turned off the heating.
I had been getting nervous at home about the depleted oil tank. Living where a part of England comes to an end, miles from any town, there are no gas supplies. You have to ensure oil tanks are kept topped up if you don’t want the hot water tap to run cold and your radiators to remain icy to the touch. There are no monthly bills or direct debit payment plans. If you have no money you can’t buy oil. We are lucky that we still have coal fires and chimneys for those occasions when we have run out before, such as the freezing, snowy December of 2011 when oil tanks wouldn’t attempt to drive this far via snowy country lanes. This year our oil has lasted all through the winter months. Husband ordered 500 litres last week and it has been delivered today. I can now have a bath without the anxiety I’ve had over the last couple of weeks. He says we will probably need to order 1000 litres in August. We are both working, but it’s still a big outlay to find up to 500 pounds in one go. I wonder how other families who are struggling financially, manage? I expect many don’t and that they endure the cold.
I have oil but still no working computer!

