Splinters V QOF

by nella503

I saw twenty-one patients yesterday, this morning I have fourteen in total booked in. February and March are always busy times for GPs and practice nurses as they try to complete as many QOF (Quality Outcome Framework) targets/points for the practice as possible. Which is why, if you come to see me with a splinter but you have an asthma diagnosis and haven’t been for an asthma review this year, the computer screams, sings even does a dance to tell me that. In fact, eventually, I reckon GPs and PMs will make our doors unopenable until every missing QOF point possible has been extracted from a patient before they are allowed to leave the surgery. Points do mean prizes, so your splinter will be secondary, I won’t be worried about it, if I am and decide to operate with a needle, as I do it, I will be asking how many times this week have you used your blue inhaler, do you get wheezy at night? when you walk up the stairs? I have just removed a splinter, wedged full length under somebody’s fingernail, it even made me feel a bit queasy poking about with needle, scissors, scalpel and tweezers until I managed to grab it, VERY triumphantly!

